Pace not running for Tax Collector

Pace not running for Tax Collector


Madison County Tax Collector Kay Pace announced on Tuesday she will be retiring at the end of this year in order to spend more time with her family and won’t be seeking a sixth term.

“When I was first elected to the position of Tax Collector, our tax books were on a shelf in three-ring binders.” she said. “Now, Madison County taxpayers are among the few in the state of Mississippi who can pay their taxes on their mobile devices.

“It’s been great to see the progress made in the Collector’s office over the past 20 plus years,” she continued. “When I took office, I told my staff that the county needed computerized monthly statements in order for each city to receive their tax monies.  This process was completed by issuing physical checks when I was first elected.  Some cities in our county would literally wait on us to deliver their funds in order to make a deposit.  Now, all tax monies are issued by ACH, along with most deposits.”

Pace was first elected in a 2001 special election and has run unopposed in the last several elections. 

During Pace’s tenure, she maintained offices in Canton, Flora and Madison. 

“I knew it was important for everyone to have access to buy tags and pay their taxes,” Pace said.  

She also was the first county Tax Collector in the state to take tax sales online, which she said produces between $400,000-$600,000 in overbids. 

As of Tuesday, nobody had submitted qualifying paperwork to run for Tax Collector, with a deadline  of Feb. 1.

The only additional person to submit qualifying paperwork for any county office was Jonathan J. Tillman Sr., who is running as a Republican for District 4 Constable against incumbent Republican Brad D. Harbour. 

As of Tuesday, the Circuit Clerk is reporting the following candidates who have submitted qualifying paperwork:

• District 1 Supervisor Casey Brannon, Republican

• District 1 Supervisor Timothy Jenkins, Republican

• District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter, Republican

• District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen, Republican

• District 4 Supervisor Karl Banks, Democrat

• District 5 Supervisor Paul E. Griffin, Democrat

• District 5 Supervisor Charles Chip Matthews, Republican

• Sheriff Randy Tucker, Republican, 

• Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott, Republican

• Circuit Clerk Anita Wray, Republican

• County Prosecuting Attorney Pamela Hancock, Republican

• Tax Assessor Norman Cannady Jr., Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 1 Marsha Weems Stacey, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 2 Martina B. Griffin, Democrat

• Justice Court Judge District 3 Lloyd C. Spivey III, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 4 Bruce McKinley, Republican

• Constable District 1 Michael L. (Mike) Brown, Republican

• Constable District 2 Johnny Sims, Democrat

• Constable District 3 K. Michael Bailey, Republican

• Constable District 4 Brad D. Harbour, Republican

• Coroner Alex Breeland, Republican

• District Attorney Bubba Bramlett

In statewide races, state Rep. Jill Ford and state Sen. Walter J. Michel, both Republicans, filed to run again. Celeste Hurst also filed to run as a Republican in the newly-created District 75 House seat that encompasses Rankin, Madison and Scott counties. 

The primary elections will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 8. The general election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions