Municipal elections Tuesday


Voters in three Madison County cities will go to the polls Tuesday to cast votes in municipal general elections.

Most races were decided during April’s party primaries and only a few contested races remain on the ballots for Tuesday’s general elections.

Below is a rundown of races that will be on Tuesday’s municipal general election ballots in Madison County’s municipalities.


The only challenged race is for an alderman-at-large in which Democrat Janice Jackson will face incumbent Republican Alderman-at-Large Sandra Strain.

Madison’s Republican Mayor Mary Hawkins-Butler drew no opponent and will serve her 11th term as mayor.

All other incumbent Madison aldermen ran unopposed as Republicans.


The alderman-at-large and Ward 2 Alderman seats are contested and will be on ballots in next week’s general election.

Democrat Poteat Medley will face incumbent Republican Alderman-at-Large D.I. Smith.

Ward 2 incumbent Republican Chuck Gautier will face Democratic challenger Walter Young Jr.

Republican Ridgeland Mayor Gene F. McGee had no opponent and will serve his ninth term as mayor.

All other incumbent aldermen in Ridgeland ran unopposed as Republicans.

A resolution passed by the Ridgeland Mayor and Board of Aldermen in April temporarily allows the 345 residents eligible to vote in a newly annexed area along W County Line Road to vote in Ward 1 and for alderman-at-large.

City Attorney Jerry Mills said at the time that the temporary solution is not expected to affect any election results as Ward 1 Alderman Ken Heard has no opponent in his race. It will allow the new residents to vote in the contested alderman-at-large race


Republican Charles “Chip” Matthews is challenging incumbent Democrat Mayor William Truly.

All other candidates in Canton ran as Democrats and those races were settled in the April Democrat Party primary.

In a lawsuit filed by three Democrat Party incumbent candidates who lost their seats in the April 6 primaries, a Friday status conference hearing before Special Madison County Circuit Court Judge Jeff Weill Sr. is pending.

The candidates — Ward 1 Rodriquez Brown, Ward 2 Fred Esco Jr. and Ward 5 Tim C. Taylor — had filed individual suits that were later consolidated into one suit, questioning among other things, the Democrat Party candidates list submitted to the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office and the legitimacy of the city’s Democrat Party Executive Committee which certified the primary results.


Flora officials are all running as independents and unopposed.

Flora incumbents who will serve another term in their respective offices are Mayor Les Childress, Ward 1 Alderman Michael Westbrook, Ward 2 Alderman Kenny Jenkins, Ward 3 Alderman Mary Sumler, Ward 4 Alderman Ray Allard and Alderman-at-large A.J. Lunsford.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions