Candidates finalized for August primaries

Candidates finalized for August primaries


The fields are set for the upcoming August primaries as the qualifying came and went last Wednesday without any eleventh-hour filings. 

An handful of incumbent countywide office holders face no opponents and are headed for another four-year term. 

Sheriff Randy Tucker, Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott, County Attorney Pamela Hancock, Tax Assessor Norman Cannady Jr. and Coroner Alex Breeland are all unopposed this cycle. 

There are three contested county supervisor races, though only one will be decided in the primaries. 

Casey Brannon, Timothy Jenkins and Arlette Hulsey Thompson are all running as Republicans to fill the District 1 seat currently held by Sheila Jones. Jones is not seeking re-election to a third term. 

Former District 4 Supervisor David Bishop, a Republican, will take on incumbent Karl Banks, a Democrat, in November. And incumbent District 5 Supervisor Paul Griffin, a Democrat, will take on Charles Chip Matthews, a Republican, in November. 

District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter and District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen are both running unopposed. 

According to the Circuit Clerk’s office, the final list of candidates who submitted qualifying paperwork is as as follows:

• District 1 Supervisor Casey Brannon, Republican

• District 1 Supervisor Timothy Jenkins, Republican

• District 1 Supervisor Arlette Hulsey Thompson, Republican

• District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter, Republican

• District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen, Republican

• District 4 Supervisor Karl Banks, Democrat

• District 4 Supervisor David Bishop, Republican

• District 5 Supervisor Paul E. Griffin, Democrat

• District 5 Supervisor Charles Chip Matthews, Republican

• Sheriff Randy Tucker, Republican, 

• Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott, Republican

• Circuit Clerk Anita Wray, Republican

• Circuit Clerk Fannie Hargon Sanders, Democrat

• County Prosecuting Attorney Pamela Hancock, Republican

• Tax Assessor Norman Cannady Jr., Republican

• Tax Collector C.J. Garavelli, Republican

• Tax Collector Laura Sullivan, Republican

• Tax Collector Leslie Childress, Republican

• Tax Collector Shelton Vance, Republican 

• Justice Court Judge District 1 Marsha Weems Stacey, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 2 Martina B. Griffin, Democrat

• Justice Court Judge District 2 Walter (WL) Johnson Jr., Democrat

• Justice Court Judge District 3 Lloyd C. Spivey III, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 4 Bruce McKinley, Republican

• Constable District 1 Michael L. (Mike) Brown, Republican

• Constable District 2 Johnny Sims, Democrat

• Constable District 2 Eugene Luckett, Democrat

• Constable District 2 Tchiakousky Williams, Republican

• Constable District 3 K. Michael Bailey, Republican

• Constable District 3 Richard “Taco” Johnson, Republican

• Constable District 4 Brad D. Harbour, Republican

Constable District 4 Jonathan J. Tillman Sr., Republican

• Coroner Alex Breeland, Republican

• District 2 Election Commissioner Barbara Gross, Republican

• District 2 Election Commissioner Randall Bolden, Independent

• District 4 Election Commissioner Dan Dickinson, Republican

• District 4 Election Commissioner Anthony Denton, Democrat

• Surveyor Roy Lamar Bullock, Republican

• District Attorney Bubba Bramlett

In statewide races, state Rep. Jill Ford and state Sen. Walter J. Michel, both Republicans, are running unopposed for another term. Bob Anderson, Jonathan K. Berry and Jonathan McMilan have each filed as Republicans to replace Joel Bomgar for District 58 representative following his retirement after this term.

Celeste Hurst filed to run as a Republican in the newly-created District 75 House seat that encompasses Rankin, Madison and Scott counties. She faces Independent Ryshanda Harper Beecham.

The primary elections will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 8, with any runoffs set for Tuesday, Aug. 29. The general election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions