Baxter to seek another term as supervisor

Baxter to seek another term as supervisor


Incumbent Republican District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter has submitted qualifying paperwork seeking another term in office. 

Baxter was only one of two people to submit paperwork to the Circuit Clerk’s office after a flurry of sitting incumbents registered when the qualifying period began last Tuesday. 

Republican candidate Charles “Chip” Matthews has once again filed to run against incumbent Democrat Paul Griffin for the District 5 supervisor seat. 

Matthews, who has unsuccessfully run for the Canton mayoral seat previously, also lost to Griffin in the 2019 general election by a 2-to-1 margin. 

District 1 Supervisor Sheila Jones is the only incumbent to publicly state no intentions of plans to seek another term. Currently, two people have filed as Republicans for her seat, Casey Brannon and former Election Commissioner Timothy Jenkins. 

Last Tuesday marked the first day candidates could begin qualifying for the 2023 elections that include statewide offices and county offices. 

As of Jan. 10, the Circuit Clerk is reporting the following incumbents who have submitted qualifying paperwork:

• District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter, Republican

• District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen, Republican

• District 4 Supervisor Karl Banks, Democrat

• District 5 Supervisor Paul E. Griffin, Democrat

• Sheriff Randy Tucker, Republican, 

• Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott, Republican

• Circuit Clerk Anita Wray, Republican

• County Prosecuting Attorney Pamela Hancock, Republican

• Tax Assessor Norman Cannady Jr., Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 1 Marsha Weems Stacey, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 2 Martina B. Griffin, Democrat

• Justice Court Judge District 3 Lloyd C. Spivey III, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 4 Bruce McKinley, Republican

• Constable District 1 Michael L. (Mike) Brown, Republican

• Constable District 2 Johnny Sims, Democrat

• Constable District 3 K. Michael Bailey, Republican

• Constable District 4 Brad D. Harbour, Republican

• Coroner Alex Breeland, Republican

Tax Collector Kay Pace is currently the only other incumbent who hasn’t filed to run for another term.  

In statewide races, state Rep. Jill Ford and state Sen. Walter J. Michel, both Republicans, filed to run again. 

Celeste Hurst also filed to run as a Republican in the newly-created District 75 House seat that encompasses Rankin, Madison and Scott counties. 

The primary elections will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 8, with any runoffs set for Tuesday, Aug. 29. The general election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions