Banks, Bishop rematch shaping up

Banks, Bishop rematch shaping up


Former District 4 Supervisor David Bishop is making another run for that seat while Flora Mayor Les Childress has thrown his hat into the Tax Collector’s race. 

Bishop, a Republican, lost to Jim Harreld in the Republican Primary four years ago after serving one term as supervisor. 

Bishop will face Democrat Karl Banks in November in a rematch from eight years ago where Bishop won by a handful of votes. That contest was challenged by Banks, who ultimately lost his appeal. 

Shelton Vance, who served as longtime Madison County Comptroller and later County Administrator, retired last year. He is now one of at least four Republicans who will face off in the August primary for Tax Collector. 

Along with Childress and Vance are C.J. Garavelli, current chief appraiser for the Tax Assessor’s office, and Laura Sullivan, chief deputy of the Madison Tax Collector’s office. 

The race for District 1 Supervisor got wider with the addition of Arlette Hulsey Thompson this week. Thompson will face off against Casey Brannon and former Election Commissioner Timothy Jenkins for the seat being vacated by two-term supervisor Sheila Jones.

As of noon on Wednesday, the Circuit Clerk is reporting the following candidates who have submitted qualifying paperwork:

• District 1 Supervisor Casey Brannon, Republican

• District 1 Supervisor Timothy Jenkins, Republican

• District 1 Supervisor Arlette Hulsey Thompson, Republican

• District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter, Republican

• District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen, Republican

• District 4 Supervisor Karl Banks, Democrat

• District 4 Supervisor David Bishop, Republican

• District 5 Supervisor Paul E. Griffin, Democrat

• District 5 Supervisor Charles Chip Matthews, Republican

• Sheriff Randy Tucker, Republican, 

• Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott, Republican

• Circuit Clerk Anita Wray, Republican

• Circuit Clerk Fannie Hargon Sanders, Democrat

• County Prosecuting Attorney Pamela Hancock, Republican

• Tax Assessor Norman Cannady Jr., Republican

• Tax Collector C.J. Garavelli, Republican

• Tax Collector Laura Sullivan, Republican

• Tax Collector Leslie Childress, Republican

• Tax Collector Shelton Vance, Republican 

• Justice Court Judge District 1 Marsha Weems Stacey, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 2 Martina B. Griffin, Democrat

• Justice Court Judge District 2 Walter (WL) Johnson Jr., Democrat

• Justice Court Judge District 3 Lloyd C. Spivey III, Republican

• Justice Court Judge District 4 Bruce McKinley, Republican

• Constable District 1 Michael L. (Mike) Brown, Republican

• Constable District 2 Johnny Sims, Democrat

• Constable District 2 Eugene Luckett, Democrat

• Constable District 2 Tchaikovsky Williams, Republican

• Constable District 3 K. Michael Bailey, Republican

• Constable District 4 Brad D. Harbour, Republican

Constable District 4 Jonathan J. Tillman Sr., Republican

• Coroner Alex Breeland, Republican

• District 2 Election Commissioner Barbara Gross, Republican

• District 4 Election Commissioner Dan Dickinson, Republican

• District 4 Election Commissioner Anthony Denton, Democrat

• Surveyor Roy Lamar Bullock, Republican

• District Attorney Bubba Bramlett

In statewide races, state Rep. Jill Ford and state Sen. Walter J. Michel, both Republicans, filed to run again. Bob Anderson and Jonathan McMilan have both filed to replace Joel Bomgar for District 58 representative following his retirement after this term.

Celeste Hurst also filed to run as a Republican in the newly-created District 75 House seat that encompasses Rankin, Madison and Scott counties.

The primary elections will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 8, with any runoffs set for Tuesday, Aug. 29. The general election is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7.

The filing deadline to qualify was 5 p.m. on Wednesday after the Journal had gone to press. 

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions