Mississippi State running back wins 2019 Conerly Trophy


Mississippi State running back Kylin Hill has won the C Spire Conerly Trophy for 2019.

Hill accepted the award Tuesday night at Country Club of Jackson.

Hill, a junior from Columbus, Miss., led the Southeastern Conference in total rushing yards, yards per game and yards after contact while helping his team become bowl eligible. He totaled 1,347 yards and averaged 5.7 yards per carry, including 132 yards in a thrilling 21-20 win over rival Ole Miss in last week's 92nd annual Egg Bowl.

"I tell my coach, teammates and family that I love and thank them for all of their support, assistance and unconditional love," Hill said in his acceptance speech. "One of the best decisions I ever made was coming to Mississippi State. I had offers from every school in the country, but I chose to stay here and play for a school 20 minutes down the road."

Hill, who also led the C Spire Fan Voting, was selected by a combination of state-wide media and the fan vote conducted by C Spire. He is the second-consecutive winner from MSU, following last year's winner Jeffery Simmons.

The 10 football-playing schools each nominate one candidate for the award. The other finalists for this year's award were Alcorn State quarterback Felix Harper, Southern Mississippi quarterback Jack Abraham and Ole Miss quarterback John Rhys Plumlee.

This is the 24th presentation of the C Spire Conerly Trophy dating back to 1996, when Tregnal Thomas of Delta State was the first recipient. The trophy is named for Clarksdale native Charley Conerly.

After serving in the military during WWII, Conerly became an All-American at Ole Miss and an All-Pro quarterback for the New York Giants.

Conerly was inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame back in 1966. C Spire has sponsored the award since 1998. Past winners include many NFL greats, including the only two-time winners, Eli Manning and Dak Prescott.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions