Madison, Ridgeland have no primaries


Municipal party primary elections are scheduled for Tuesday but voters in Madison and Ridgeland will not go to the polls until June 8 because there are no challengers.

“If there is only one Republican or one Democrat on the ballot there is no reason to hold an election,” said Ridgeland City Clerk Paula Tierce.

Flora officials are all running as independents and unopposed.

Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins-Butler and Ridgeland Mayor Gene F. McGee, both Republicans, face no opposition so both will serve another term, Hawkins-Butler’s 11th and McGee’s ninth.

All incumbent aldermen in both Madison and Ridgeland filed to run for re-election as Republicans and only three of those races had Democratic party challengers, the aldermen-at-large positions in both Madison and Ridgeland and the Ward 2 alderman seat in Ridgeland.

In Madison, Democrat Janice Jackson will face incumbent Alderman-at-Large Sandra Strain in the June 8 general election.

In Ridgeland, Democrat Poteat Medley will face incumbent Alderman-at-Large D.I. Smith, and in the Ward 2 position incumbent Ward 2 Alderman Chuck Gautier will face Democratic challenger Walter Young Jr.

Flora incumbents who will serve another term in their respective offices are Mayor Les Childress, Ward 1 Alderman Michael Westbrook, Ward 2 Alderman Kenny Jenkins, Ward 3 Alderman Mary Sumler, Ward 4 Alderman Ray Allard and Alderman-at-large A.J. Lunsford.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions