Madison County mask order lifted


Madison County came out from under a mandatory COVID-19 mask order, Gov. Tate Reeves announced on Wednesday under his “Safe Recovery” mandate. 

Counties that remain under a mandatory mask requirement include: Benton, Carroll, Covington, DeSoto, Forrest, Harrison, Humphreys, Jackson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Leflore, Lee, Marshall, Rankin, and Yalobusha.

“I know that we are all tired and ready to move on. But the virus is still here,” Reeves said in a press release. “It’s still working to infect and kill. We’ve gotten far better at dealing with it, and allowing for life to go on. But we’re not all the way there yet. Keep fighting and protecting the most vulnerable in your life. No matter where you are, please do your best to social distance and wear a mask.”

Public and private schools within Madison County continue to cope with COVID-19 as over 140 students were quarantined due to COVID-19 exposure during Nov. 2-6, according to a new report from the Mississippi State Department of Health. 

Germantown High School, which has reported 22 positive cases since classes resumed in September, had 81 students quarantined that week. Madison Middle School, which has reported six positive cases, had another 16 students under quarantine during the same period. 

Madison-Ridgeland Academy has confirmed 28 cases of the virus and had nine students quarantined. Ridgeland High School has 14 confirmed cases.

Velma Jackson High School, St. Anthony Catholic School, Madison Avenue Elementary, Madison Avenue Upper Elementary, Luther Branson Elementary, Camden Elementary, and Ann Smith Elementary are the only schools that have had zero cases to date, according to MSDH.

On Wednesday, the state reported 1,256 new cases and 17 new deaths.

In Madison County, 4,146 total cases have been identified. There have been 96 deaths here attributed to the virus.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions