Brannon wins supervisor race, Garavelli next tax collector

Brannon wins supervisor race, Garavelli next tax collector


About 35 percent of Madison County’s registered voters turned out for Tuesday’s party primaries that included a small slate of local races. 

There were about 800 Republican absentee ballots and 300 Democrat ballots being counted on Wednesday, along with a handful of affidavit ballots.

On Election Day, 16,733 Republican ballots were cast, with 6,595 Democrat ballots. For comparison, in the 2019 general election, about 39,000 Madison countians participated. 

Republican Casey Brannon will be the next District 1 Supervisor, avoiding a runoff in a three-person race to take Sheila Jones’ seat after she opted not to seek a third term. 

Brannon finished with 3,105 votes or 60.98%. Arlette Hulsey Thompson finished in second place with 1,128 votes (22.15%) and Timothy N. Jenkins finished with 842 votes (16.54%). These totals do not include absentee ballots or affidavit ballots, though there are not enough to affect the outcome of the race. 

“It has been a privilege to visit with so many residents in District 1,” Brannon said Wednesday. “I am so grateful for all of the support, and I look forward to working hard for the city of Madison and Madison County.”

There were no other contested supervisor races on Tuesday, athough District 4 and District 5 are contested in the general election. 

Republican C.J. Garavelli will be the next Madison County Tax Collector after capturing 9,011 votes (57.95%) against former Madison County Administrator Shelton Vance. Vance received 6,487 votes. 

“I want to give special thanks to so many friends and family for your help, guidance and support,” Garavelli said. “I’m incredibly humbled and grateful to every voter and all who advocate for professional county government. I’m eager to work hard with and for you as your next Tax Collector to improve services, access and to lead the most efficient and modern county office in Mississippi.” 

Republican Jonathan McMillan appears to be the next District 58 state representative, capturing 54.36% percent of the vote in a three-man race. McMillan received 3,162 votes followed by Bob Anderson with 2,339 (40.21%) and Jonathan K. Berry with 299 (5.14%). Absentee ballots and affidavit ballots could possibly force a runoff, though it is statistically improbable. 

“This entire campaign has been not about me, it’s about this county and my community,” McMillan said on Wednesday. “That’s why I stepped out to run. I’m excited to step out and serve my community.”

Two constable races were decided in the Republican Primary Tuesday, as well, with incumbent Brad Harbour destroying opponent Jonathan J. Tillman Sr. with 88.37% of the vote for another term in the District 4 seat. 

Richard “Taco” Johnson won the District 3 Constable race handily by besting K. Michael Bailey with 3,835 (64.96%) of the votes. 

There was only one contested local Democrat race and incumbent District 2 Justice Court Judge Martina B. Griffin cruised to another term by beating Walter “WL” Johnson Jr. with 1,990 votes (63.84%). 

There will also be a runoff in the Democratic primary in three weeks to decide the District 72 State Representative, which covers parts of Hinds County and Madison County. It appears that Rukia Lumumba and Justis Gibbs will square off. Lumumba received 342 of the 868 votes cast in the race, with Gibbs receiving 275 votes. 

Statewide, there were no surprises at all, even in the hotly-contested lieutenant governor’s race between Lt. Gov. Delbert Hosemann and state Sen. Chris McDaniel. 

McDaniel tried to turn Madison County into a battleground county by tapping into allegations that Hosemann was plotting with some county officials to separate the judicial district tied to Rankin County, although Hosemann denied the talks and said he will not split the districts. 

The turmoil even turned into an endorsement for McDaniel from Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins-Butler, while Hosemann garnered endorsements from Sheriff Randy Tucker, Ridgeland Mayor Gene McGee, Flora Mayor Les Childress, and Gluckstadt Mayor Walter Morrison. 

Hosemann carried Madison County with 11,044 votes (66.49%) to McDaniel’s 5,061 votes (30.47%). 

The Associated Press called the race at 11:23 p.m. Tuesday for Hosemann. With 92% of votes counted, Hosemann had a 30,000 vote lead over McDaniel with 185,079 in his favor. A third candidate, Tiffany Longino, had 18,791 votes, but it wasn’t enough to play spoiler and force a runoff. 

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions