Voting was brisk at the First Presbyterian Church in Madison Tuesday.
Voting was brisk at the First Presbyterian Church in Madison Tuesday.
A higher than expected turnout in Madison County has created some lines at the polls as thousands of voters were out casting their ballots Tuesday despite nearly constant rain.

With only a few contested races election officials reportedly utilized a smaller number of voting machines forcing some poll-goers to wait to cast their ballots, but no major problems have been reported overall.

Polling places will be open until 7 p.m. today as two judge seats seem to be the most heavily contested races in the county.

A three-man race for the District 20 Circuit Court Judge, Place 1 position is being held between Craig Brasfield, John H. Emfinger and John Shirley.

Circuit court is responsible for felony crimes and mostly civil actions in matters involving more than $200,000.

The majority of the civil actions involve cases like contract and construction disputes, auto accidents and malpractice lawsuits.

The felony cases in circuit court involve crimes with possible sentencing in the federal penitentiary. These include murder cases, armed robberies, election crimes, aggravated assaults, auto theft and felony DUIs.

The race to replace Bill Agin, longtime Madison County Court Judge for Place 1, who is set to retire at the end of his current term, is the most hotly contended with four attorneys vying for the position.

Barabara Ann Bluntson, Howard R. Brown, Will Longwitz and Steve Ratcliff will appear on the ticket in the non-partisan race.

County Courts shares jurisdiction with Justice, Circuit and Chancery Courts handling both civil and criminal matters.

They normally handle civil cases involving up to $200,000 and non-capital felony cases. They also hand the county youth court.

Residents in the 2nd U.S. Congressional District will choose between Republican Bill Marcy, Democrat Bennie G. Thompson and Reform Party candidate Ashley Norwood.

And Residents in the 3rd U.S. Congressional District will choose between Democrat Joel L. Gill, Republican Gregg Harper and Reform Party candidate Tracella Lou O'Hara Hill.