Although supervisors remain unanimous in support of the Reunion interchange, they were split on who should serve on a five-person committee to select an engineer for the initial phase of the project.

District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter made the initial motion Monday night to form a five-person committee to select an engineer, something officials said will be required by the Mississippi Department of Transportation.

County Road Manager/Engineer Dan Gaillet said the county has already advertised for engineers for the project and the first step is the qualification process. He said once they round up all the qualified engineers, a committee will submit qualifications and pull recommendations.

Gaillet said the initial work was for environmental and preliminary design, which would most likely take place in 2019.

Baxter initially proposed the committee include himself, Gaillet, County Administrator Shelton Vance, Cornelius Bacon with the Road Department, and Danny Lee, director of Buildings and Grounds.

Board President David Bishop made a substitute motion to replace one of the other four individuals with another supervisor and asked that he be able to serve in that role.

“I’d like to be on that committee,” he said, adding that he has been working on this for two years.

District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen agreed with Bishop that two supervisors needed to serve on the committee and backed Bishop for the second spot, removing Lee from the group.

That motion failed 3-2, with Baxter, District 1 Supervisor Sheila Jones and District 5 Supervisor Paul Griffin voting against.

Griffin then made a substitute motion to replace Bacon with Jones, with that motion passing 3-2. Steen and Bishop voted against.