The field of candidates is set for the 2019 election cycle, and only a handful of county officials drew opponents. 

District 4 Supervisor David Bishop and District 5 Supervisor Paul Griffin are the only two supervisors to face opposition this cycle.

Bishop will face off against Jim Harreld in the Republican primary Aug. 6 and the winner will take on former long-time supervisor Karl Banks, a Democrat, in the November general election. 

Bishop beat Banks by two votes in 2015. A challenge by Banks lasted nearly three years before Bishop was finally declared the winner last year by a special circuit judge. 

Griffin will face off against Hercules “Punch” Lacey in the Aug. 6 Democratic primary while Charles Chip Matthews and Erin Rose face off in the Republican primary. The winners of each primary will run in November. 

District 1 Supervisor Sheila Jones, District 2 Supervisor Trey Baxter and District 3 Supervisor Gerald Steen are running unopposed for re-election. 

Circuit Clerk Anita Wray is being opposed by former Election Commissioner Timothy Jenkins in the Republican primary. There were no Democrats or independents who qualified.

The only contested Justice Court Judge race this cycle will be in District 2, currently held by Martina Griffin. She faces Walter Lee Johnson Jr. in the Democratic Primary and the winner will face Republican Bill Featherston and independent Courtney Rainey in November. 

Rainey, a current Canton Public Schools board member, was indicted last year on voter fraud and witness intimidation charges. 

Republican Tax Collector Kay Pace drew a late opponent last Friday when Democrat Robert Earl Winn Jr. threw his hat into the race. The two will face each other in November.

Those other county officials running unopposed for re-election include: Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott, District 1 Constable Mike Brown, District 2 Constable Johnny Sims, District 3 Constable Will Weisenberger Jr., District. 4 Constable Brad Harbour, Coroner Alex Breeland, County Attorney Pamela Hancock, District 1 Justice Court Judge Marsha Weems Stacey, District 3 Justice Court Judge Lloyd Spivey III, District 4 Justice Court Judge Bruce McKinley, Sheriff Randy Tucker, Surveyor Richard Tolbert Sr., and Tax Assessor Norman Cannady Jr. 

Madison County District Attorney John K. “Bubba” Bramlett, who was appointed by Gov. Phil Bryant in December, is running unopposed this year. 

On the legislative side, State Rep. Joel Bomgar is being challenged in the District 58 race by Bruce Bartley. 

For the District 73 seat, Johnny Black and Jill Ford will face off in the Republican primary for the seat formerly held by Cory Wilson, who was recently appointed to the Mississippi Court of Appeals. Gayle Walsh Massey qualified as a Democrat to run for the seat.

Ed Blackmon is being challenged by Michquel McCullough in the Democrat primary for the District 57 House seat.

State Sen. Walter Michel is running unopposed for re-election to represent District 25. State Sen. Barbara Blackmon is running unopposed for the District 21 seat she currently holds. 

Dwayne Self of Canton will face off against Hayes Dent in the Republican primary for the District 22 Senate seat currently held by Buck Clarke, who is running for State Treasurer. 

Joseph Thomas, Ruffin Smith, Vince Roberts, Colton Thornton and Earl Scales are all running as Democrats for the same seat.

Former Madison County Supervisor Andy Taggart tossed his name into the ring at the eleventh hour last Friday in a bid to be the next Attorney General. He squares off against Mark Baker and Lynn Fitch in the Republican primary. The winner will take on Democrat Jennifer Riley Collins.

David McRae of Ridgeland and Buck Clarke will face each other in the Republican Primary for State Treasurer. The winner will take on Democrat Addie Lee Green.