Madison County voters will head to the polls Tuesday to decide party primaries in both local and state elections.

At the top of the ticket, voters will cast their lot for governor. On the Republican ballot in Madison County, three candidates have qualified: businessman Robert Foster, Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves and State Supreme Court Judge Bill Waller, Jr.

The Democrats have a significantly more crowded field with qualified candidates including Michael Brown, William Bond Compton Jr., Attorney General Jim Hood, Robert J. Ray, Robert Shuler Smith, Gregory Wash, Velesha Williams and Albert Wilson.

Reeves, the presumptive front runner, leads the pack in fundraising with more than $5.2 million in cash on hand, according to campaign fundraising records from the Secretary of State’s office.

By contrast, Hood, the presumed Democrat nominee for governor, has about $1.4 million on hand based on the same fillings.

The Waller campaign reported approximately $540,000 cash on hand in its latest filing through the Waller for Governor candidate committee. Between foster and his PAC, Friends of Robert Foster, he has just under $20,000 in cash on hand.

The Republicans have two candidates for lieutenant governor in current Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann and Shane Quick. The primary winner will face Democrat Jay Hughes, who is unopposed in the primary.

The Democratic secretary of state primary pits Johnny Dupree against Maryra Hodges Hunt.

Down the ballot, the next contested primary race is for Public Service Commissioner Central District with four candidates: Dorothy “Dot” Benford, Ryan Brown, Bruce Burton and Jackson City Councilman De’Keither Stamps.

For Transportation Commissioner Central District, Democrats Willie Simmons and Marcus Wallace will face each other in the primaries.

Mark S. Buckner Sr., Ermea “E.J.” Russell, Ruffin Smith, Joseph C. Thomas Sr. and Colton Thornton have all qualified for the Democratic primary for Senate District 22.

Marcus Williams is challenging incumbent John Horhne in Senate District 26.

The House primary race for District 72 features democrats Debra Gibbs and Felicia Tripp.

There are ten primaried Republican races for state positions.

Republican voters will choose between Sam Britton and Michael Watson to nominate for Secretary of State. The attorney general Republican primary is a three-way competition between Mark Baker, Lynn Fitch and Andy Taggart.

Eugene “Buck” Clarke and David McRae will compete in the Republican primary for State Treasurer. The Public Service Commissioner Central District race will see Brent Bailey and Nic Lott face off in the Republican primary.

Butch Lee and Ricky Pennington Jr. will compete for the Transportation Commissioner Central District Republican nomination. Hayes Dent and Dwayne Self will compete for the Senate District 22 nomination. Locally, incumbent Joel Bomgar is being primaried by Bruce Bartley for the Representative District 58 race.

Johnny Black and Jill Ford are competing for the Republican nomination for House of Representatives District 73.

The local elections have 21 races, 16 of which are unopposed, including Sheriff Randy Tucker, three supervisors, all four constable races and Chancery Clerk Ronny Lott.

The only county-wide opposed race is for Circuit Clerk. Republican incumbent Anita E. Wray will face off against Timothy Jenkins in the primary.

Only the District 2 Justice Court Judge race is contested. That race includes Democrat incumbent Martina B. Griffin who faces Democratic primary opponent Walter Lee Johnson, Jr. The winner will face Republican Bill Featherston and independent Courtney L. Rainey in the general election.

Supervisor incumbents David E. Bishop, a Republican representing District 4, and Democrat Paul E. Griffin of District 5 both face primary opponents. 

Bishop will face James (Jim) Harreld in the primary while Griffin will square off against Hercules Punch Lacey. The District 5 Republican primary includes Charles Chip Matthews and Erin Rose.

Former supervisor Karl M. Banks is a democrat challenger for the District 4.

Finally, Republican incumbent tax collector Kay Pace will face Democrat opponent Robert Earl Winn, Jr., in the regular election.

All contenders for governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general of Mississippi are scheduled to give stump speeches at the Neshoba County Fair Thursday.

Reeves and Waller are scheduled to speak at 10:30 a.m. and 10:10 a.m. respectively, with Jim Hood appearing at 10:20 a.m. Foster is scheduled for 9:50 a.m. 

Mississippi governor Phil Bryant is scheduled to speak at 10:40 a.m. Thursday.

In 1896, Gov. Anselm J. McLaurin spoke and began the tradition of the Fair being a political forum for local, state, and national politicians. Ronald Reagan, Jack Kemp and John Glenn are among the national figures who have visited the Fair during their campaigns.

Most of the speeches can be heard locally on WHOC 1490 AM and WWSL 102.3 FM or streamed online at