A host of candidates filed qualifying papers today before the 5 p.m. deadline for upcoming municipal elections, with Madison Mayor Mary Hawkins Butler picking up a second opponent and Ridgeland Mayor Gene McGee drawing opposition.

Hawkins-Butler is being challenged by former county supervisor and Kroger store manager John Bell Crosby and Matt Armstrong. Crosby ran against Hawkins-Butler in 2013 for the mayor's seat and lost by nearly 80 percent of the vote. He lost his supervisor re-election bid to Sheila Jones in 2015. The three run in the Republican primary on May 2.

Madison Alderman-at-Large Warren Strain is being opposed by Myles Cross in the Republican primary.

Ward 1 Alderman Tawanna Tatum received no opposition, along with Ward 5 Alderman Mike Hudgins.

Ward 2 Alderman Pat Peeler is being opposed by Dobson "Dobby" Bowdon in the Republican primary.

Ward 3 Alderman Ken Jacobs is being opposed by Jay Witcher in the Republican primary.

Ward 4 Alderman Steve Hickok is being opposed by former Madison Alderman-at-Large and County Supervisor John Howland. Howland lost his bid for the District 2 supervisor seat to Trey Baxter in 2015. Hickok also has a Democratic opponent, Jacob "Conner" smith.

Ward 6 Alderman Guy Bowering is being opposed by Rachael Elmore.

In Ridgeland, McGee drew last-minute opposition in the Republican primary by Patton Ford, son of Jill Ford, who ran unsuccessfully for the District 3 supervisor seat against Gerald Steen in 2015.

Alderman-at-Large D.I. Smith drew no primary opponent but will square off against Democrat Poteat Medley in the general election.

Ward 1 Alderman Ken Heard, Ward 3 Alderman Kevin Holder and Ward 4 Alderman Brian Ramsey drew no opposition.

Ward 2 Alderman Chuck Gautier squares off against former Ridgeland Alderman Linda S. Davis and Stephen Webb in the Republican primary.

Ward 5 Alderman Scott Jones will face off against William B. (Bill) Lee in the Republican primary.

Ward 6 Alderman Wesley Hamlin will take off Raymond E. Smith in the Republican primary and the winner will face Democrat opponent Barbara Ann Bluntson in the general election.

Information on last-minute filers in Canton and Flora was unavailable.