Madison County voters will return to the polls Tuesday to cast ballots for President as well as candidates for U. S. Senate and House, state Supreme Court, a District 4 election commission post and a school board post in District 3.

Voters, nationwide, will choose between incumbent Democrat President Barack Obama, Republican Mitt Romney and four others from the Constitution, Libertarian, Green and Reform parties.

During the 2008 Presidential election, Madison County votes gave considerable support to Republican John McCain who polled 57 percent or 24,781 votes here. Obama received 18,034 votes in 2008 from Madison countians.

Eligible voters may cast absentee ballots in the Circuit Clerk's office until noon on Saturday.

In March, there were approximately 78,000 voters on the roll in Madison County - nearly 10,000 more than the population of voting age adults.

The Circuit Clerk's office in the Courthouse is open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for absentee voting. The office will also be open on Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon for absentee voting.

There are two candidates running for a full term for the District 3 seat on the Madison County School Board.

Janet Shearer was appointed in 2011 to fill a vacancy and she is opposed by Sam Kelly in the newly re-aligned district.

The term lasts six years. Only voters in District 3 will cast a vote in this race.

Azzie L. Jackson Adams and Barbara Brown are both running for the District 4 election commissioner position. Both from Canton, Adams has served for five terms.

The Nov. 2 general election ballot will include the following candidates:

For President and Vice President

•Barack Obama and Joe Biden (Democrat)

•Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan (Republican)

•Virgil Goode and Jim Clymer (Constitution)

•Gary Johnson and James P. Gray (Libertarian)

•Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala (Green)

•Barbara Dale Washer and Cathy L. Toole (Reform)

For United States


•Albert N. Gore Jr. (Democrat)

•Roger F. Wicker (Republican)

•Thomas Cramer (Constitution)

•Shawn O'Hara (Reform)

For United States House

of Representatives Second District

•Bill Marcy (Republican)

•Bennie G. Thompson (Democrat)

•Cobby Mondale Williams (Independent)

•Lajena Williams (Reform)

For United States House of


Third District

•Gregg Harper (Republican)

•John 'Luke' Pannell (Reform)

For Supreme Court Justice

District 1

Position 1

•Earl S. Banks (Non Partisan)

•William L. (Bill) Waller Jr. (Non Partisan)

District 1, Position 2

•Leslie D. King (Non Partisan)

For Court of Appeals

District 2

Position 2

•Ceola James

•Ermea EJ Russell

For Election


District 1

•Timothy N. Jenkins

District 2

•Julia Hodges

District 3

•Pat Truesdale

District 4

•Azzie L. Jackson Adams

•Barbara Brown

District 5

•Leroy Lacy

For County School Board

District 3

•Sam Kelly

•Janet D. Shearer

District 4

•Philip Huskey